MLB spring training begins toward the end of February and includes 15 Cactus League teams playing at various stadiums in Arizona.
Spring training brings thousands of people to Tempe or Scottsdale to enjoy the beginning of baseball and to join in the many events.
Often, there is tandem alcohol consumption with the celebrations, which can lead to alcohol-related arrests. If you are planning to join in the fun this year and attend spring training, know that the police will be ready to make arrests for any illegal alcohol-related behavior.
Alcohol Served at Many Spring Training Events
200-plus Cactus League games are usually scheduled for spring training, with 15 MLB teams at 10 different stadiums. At all these games, beer and other alcoholic beverages are often consumed, many times in large quantities. In addition, there are many events scheduled to cater to those celebrating the beginning of the baseball season. Often celebrations or events associated with the beginning of the upcoming baseball season, will have police in force to make arrests for any illegal alcohol activity that is spotted.
Due to the amount of people attending spring training, and the abundance of alcohol, at various events, arrests are usually in high numbers. This can include DUI, minor in consumption (MIC), minor in possession (MIP), disorderly conduct, urinating in public and open container arrests. Whether you live in Tempe, Scottsdale or you’re just visiting for spring training. It’s important to know what you could be facing if you are arrested for any alcohol-related offense and what you can do to fight the charges.
Alcohol-Related Charges in Arizona
At Matthew Lopez Law, we are experienced with alcohol-related legal problems. We have represented thousands of clients that have been arrested for breaking one of Arizona’s strict alcohol laws. Our experience can help you if you find yourself being arrested during spring training. Here is a list of common alcohol-related charges and the possible consequences if you are convicted in Arizona for a first offense:
- Minor in Consumption is ANY alcohol consumption by someone under 21 years of age. MIC can result in up to $2,500 in fines, loss of driving privileges and other consequences.
- MIP. Minor in Possession can be charged for any minor that has possession of an alcoholic beverage, even if they are not drinking. MIP can result in up to $2,500 in fines, loss of driver’s license, probation and other consequences.
- Public consumption of alcohol. It is illegal to drink alcohol in certain public places in Arizona, which can result in an arrest. Public consumption convictions can result in a class 2 misdemeanor, fines, jail time and probation.
- Furnishing alcohol to a minor. If you are charged with giving alcohol to a minor, you could face $2,500 in fines, a misdemeanor on your record and jail time.
- Open container. A common issue during spring training, this charge is for any open alcohol container that is inside of a vehicle, whether you are intoxicated or not. Open container convictions can carry a fine of up to $750 and four months in jail.
- Driving Under the Influence in Arizona is anyone driving with a BAC of .08% or greater. An AZ DUI can result in up to $2,500 in fines, six-months of jail time, an interlock device, treatment, driver’s license suspension and more.
If you are involved in any alcohol-related arrests during spring training, you may be facing serious consequences. It is imperative to know your options and get the best legal help available to reduce or dismiss the charges.
If you are from out-of-state, this can make your arrest even more complicated. Hiring an experienced Arizona lawyer that can help you fight your case can make a big difference in what consequences you may face.
Do not let the fun of attending spring training in Tempe or Scottsdale end up impacting your life. If you find yourself facing alcohol-related charges, give our team at Matthew Lopez Law a call immediately. We can help you formulate a legal plan to minimize the ramifications of your arrest, either getting the charge dismissed or with the least amount of penalties. All initial consultations are free, and you are under no obligation to hire us when you call, but we could be your best chance of winning your case.