We Get Results
  1. Home
  2.  | 
  3. DUI
  4.  | Can I legally refuse to take a sobriety test in Arizona?

Can I legally refuse to take a sobriety test in Arizona?

When a person is pulled over for a DUI in the Tempe area, they can feel overwhelmed and anxious. The law enforcement officer may be intimidating, and a defendant may not know what to do. A person who is pulled over on suspicion of DUI is required to take a blood, breath or urine test to measure their blood alcohol content. But what happens if a defendant refuses?

Assuming that the officer lawfully pulled over the defendant and has no malicious intent then the driver will be automatically assumed to legally consent to a chemical test to test their blood alcohol content. If the driver refuses:

  • Their driver’s license must be surrendered
  • The driver’s license will be suspended for at least 12 months
  • An ignition interlock system will be required to be installed after the first 90 days of license suspension

Sometimes the consequences of not consenting to a chemical test in Arizona are less than the consequences of a DUI conviction. But the refusal is risky and can lead to serious consequences. A legal professional who is skilled in DUI defense can examine the evidence against their client and explore some possible defense strategies to reduce the charges or dismiss them altogether.

A DUI conviction can be serious, leading to lifelong consequences. A conviction can mean a defendant’s life is completely turned upside down. They can now be facing jail time, thousands of dollars in fines, a ruined personal and professional reputation, and the loss of a driver’s license. Some DUI convictions can also be felonies which can lead to a lifelong criminal record. The potential consequences of a DUI conviction is why it is important for a person to have an attorney on their side.