A DUI conviction in Mesa, Arizona, can affect your finances, your employment, and even your freedom. no matter what level of offense you are convicted of, you will suffer a license suspension, which can come with fees for reinstatement and hinder your ability to work. You also could serve jail time, resulting in a loss of freedom for days or even years years. And in any case, your insurance rates will skyrocket, sometimes becoming cost-prohibitive. Because of this, it is essential to seek out an experienced DUI attorney to fight the charges. To understand what is at stake, below is a list of sentences that you could possibly face for the variety of DUI charges that can be imposed.
When charged with a DUI one of the biggest fears is the possibility of being sentenced to jail. For first offense convictions, you will serve a minimum of one day with the possibility of serving up to 30 days. A second offense raises the minimum to 10 days with the possibility of serving up to six months. If your BAC is over 0.15%, when stopped, you can be charged with an extreme DUI, which can result in a sentence of 60 days to six months. In cases where you are pulled over for a suspected DUI when driving without a valid license, you have multiple convictions on your record, or with a child in the car, you could be charged with aggravated DUI and sentenced to up to three years in prison.
Fines and Fees
No matter what level of charge is levied against you, ,you will have to pay a minimum of $2,500 in fines if convicted. But that is not the only cost that you will be responsible for. Each charge carries a sentence of five years probation, which comes with its own monthly costs. If convicted of a second offense, extreme, or aggravated DUI, you will need to pay fees to have your license reinstated and also pay to rent an ignition interlocking device for a year once your license is reinstated.
In state of Arizona all DUI charges come with some form of license suspension. For first offenders, the suspension lasts for 90 days. Subsequent DUIs, second offense extreme DUIs, and aggravated DUI will all result in a license revocation up to one year. After this time you will need to reapply for your license and pay any necessary reinstatement fees. In some case, such as with aggravated DUI charges, you may need to petition the department of motor vehicles to approve reinstatement.
Most DUI charges are classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Even though this does not carry the same weight as a felony conviction you may be required to notify potential and current employers, especially if you drive as part of your job. If convicted of aggravated DUI, you will be convicted of a Class 4 felony, which will have to be reported in instances of employment, housing, and when working for schools or community programs.
The city of Mesa, Arizona has begun to heavily crack down on DUI crimes, resulting in severe penalties even for first time offenders. These penalties can affect your life, your job, and your freedom, which makes it imperative to choose the right type of counsel to present your case. Contact an experienced Mesa, Arizona DUI attorney today to help you achieve the best possible outcome for your DUI charges.