When it comes to DUI penalties, laws in Arizona are often very harsh. That means a single instance of carelessness can leave you faced with exorbitant fines, jail time, and license suspension.
It is important for all people facing charges to fully understand what they are up against. Here are a few common DUI penalties and what they entail.
First offenses entail a mandatory minimum ten-day jail term and a minimum fine of $1,250. No matter the number or type of offense, all people convicted of DUI in Arizona must undergo an alcohol screening and possible substance treatment depending on the outcome of the screening. Offenders must also complete community service and have an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicles.
When it comes to the second offense, mandatory minimum jail terms begin at 90 days, while minimum fines start at $3,000. Additionally, drivers will face a license revocation period that lasts for at least one year.
When BAC is 0.15% or higher at the time of arrest, the person will face extreme DUI charges. When it comes to the first offense, those convicted receive a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 30 days and a minimum fine of $2,500. As for second extreme DUI offenses, those convicted receive a mandatory minimum jail term of 120 days, a minimum fine of $3,250, and a license revocation period lasting at least one year.
Extenuating circumstances can lead to an aggravated DUI, which elevates penalties even further. Aggravated DUIs involve receiving a third offense within 84 months of the previous one, driving with a revoked or suspended license, refusing to submit to a breath test when prompted by an ignition interlock device, or driving drunk with someone under the age of 15.