Every city and town in Arizona, including Yuma, take driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol very seriously. When you drive under the influence, you are not only putting yourself and your passengers at risk, but you are also putting everyone else on the road at risk. Driving is a privilege, and if you are arrested for DUI in Arizona, that privilege and your freedom can be taken away.
What are the legal limits in Yuma, Arizona?
Under Arizona state law, you can be arrested for a DUI if your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is above .08. You can also face aggravated charges for extreme DUI, depending on the tested BAC level. If you are a commercial driver, the law is different. If your BAC is above .04, you can be arrested. Finally, anyone under the age of 21 can be arrested if they have any alcohol in their system, regardless of how much or how little.
What are the penalties for driving under the influence in Arizona?
The penalty for driving under the influence depends on how many times you were arrested for the crime.
- 1st Offense: If it was your first offense, you could spend between 24-hours and ten days in jail. You would also be ordered to pay a $250 fine and have your license suspended for 90 to 360 days. You won’t be able to get your license back until you have completed the mandated alcohol education courses.
- 2nd Offense: If it is your second offense, you can serve between 30 and 90 days in jail. You would also be required to pay a $500 fine and have your license suspended for one year. Alcohol education courses are also required.
- 3rd Offense: The third offense is taken very seriously. You would be required to spend a minimum of four months in jail. The fine is $750, and your license would be suspended for a year. You will also need to attend the mandated alcohol education courses.
- BAC Over 0.15%: Whether it is your first or third offense, if your BAC is over 0.15%, you will be sent to jail for at least 30 days. You would also be required to pay a fine of at least $2,500.
Ignition interlock device
Whether it is your first, second, or third offense, you would be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle when your license is reinstated. The device is a breathalyzer that you would be required to blow into each time you attempt to start your car. If your BAC is over the limit, your vehicle won’t start.
For the duration that you are required to have the device installed in your vehicle, it is illegal to drive any car other than your own. You would also be required to pay the cost to have the device installed, and the monthly service fees. You cannot have the device until the judge rules that you can.
How can a Yuma DUI defense lawyer help?
If you are arrested in Yuma for a DUI, you should hire a lawyer. The penalties associated with a DUI can wreak havoc on your life while causing you to have a criminal record. A lawyer can work to have the case dismissed or the charges lessened in a few different ways. If your lawyer is able to prove that the traffic stop was illegal, the case would be dismissed. If you failed the field sobriety test, your lawyer could contest its validity. They can also challenge the validity of the breathalyzer by claiming that it was not calibrated properly, or that there were extenuating circumstances that caused it to register .08 or older. There may not be much that your lawyer can do, but it is worth a shot since the penalties of a DUI can be expensive and make your life very inconvenient.