It probably comes as no surprise to most people that Halloween is a popular holiday for drinking and partying. This is especially true in Arizona, which hosts popular colleges such as ASU, U of A and NAU. Law enforcement is also aware that this is an alcohol-fueled holiday and, as such, is out in full force to catch drivers who are operating under the influence. It is important to understand the consequences and take steps to avoid getting into legal trouble.
According to PR Newswire, there is an almost 20% increase in DUIs on Halloween. The Saturday prior to Halloween also has a lot of drinking violations, and almost half of all crash fatalities are due to drunk drivers.
To prevent making a bad decision after drinking, people should make a plan before the night even starts. This includes having a designated driver, downloading ride-share apps and keeping phone numbers for cabs handy. Even shelling out money for a hotel room is a lot cheaper than what a DUI costs.
The Arizona Department of Transportation outlines the consequences of a DUI conviction. Jail time for a first offense is a minimum of 10 days and, for subsequent offenses, jail time is a minimum of 90 days. A fist offense also requires a minimum fine of $1,250, community service, an ignition interlock device and an alcohol education program. Subsequent offenses require a $3,000 minimum fine, 12-month license revocation, community service, an IID and some type of alcohol program.
Drivers who refuse the breathalyzer or any other tests during the arrest will lost their license for a minimum of 12 months. Before reinstating the license, the driver must also complete a screening for alcohol and drugs.