Accusations of assault in Scottsdale, Arizona

If you have been charged with assault in Scottsdale, Arizona, you may likely be worried about the possible outcome. Assault charges can be filed for a number of reasons, from minor altercations to violent fights. With the range of charges also comes a range of possible penalties, which can include jail times and fines, depending on the nature of the occurrence. Since assault cases not only carry a significant punishment but can also be complicated, finding a trusted criminal attorney like Matt Lopez to handle your case can provide you with the ability to mount the best possible defense.

Assault charge class

Possible sentences you could be facing will largely have to do with the class of assault you are charged with.

  • Class 1: A class 1 misdemeanor is the highest level offense in its category, which can result from a physical altercation with another party. If convicted of a class 1 misdemeanor assault charge, you could face up to six months in jail and a $2,500 fine.
  • Class 2: A class 2 charge may be levied if the occurrence caused the victim to feel they would be done harm or violence. This charge can result in up to four months in jail and a $750 fine.
  • Class 3: This charge will usually involve occurrences where the victim was poked, pushed, or prodded in a way to provoke a reaction from them. Sentences can include up to 30 days and a fine of $500 or less.
  • Aggravated assault: This classification is a felony and can range from a class 2 felony to a class 5. This charge is often used if the violence led to severe injuries or a dangerous weapon was used. Felony charges can carry a sentence of up to 15 years in prison for a first offense.

If you or a loved one has been charged with assault, contact attorney Matt Lopez to discuss the particulars of the case and find the best options for your defense.

 

FindLaw Network