When an individual in Arizona is in the actual physical control of a vehicle, they are prohibited by law from being under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Not only does this mean that a person can be charged with a DUI in Chandler when they are driving a vehicle, but they also can be charged with this crime if they are sitting behind the wheel of a vehicle that is parked on the side of the road.
There are several levels of DUI charges in Arizona, and each level has its own set of penalties that an individual may be subjected to. This is what you need to know about DUI charges in Chandler Arizona:
There Are Three Types Of DUI Charges
In Arizona, there are three types of DUI charges to be aware of:
- Driving Under the Influence — A person can be charged with a DUI in Arizona if they are found in actual physical control of a vehicle and their blood alcohol content is higher than .08 percent. A person with a commercial vehicle license who is operating a commercial vehicle can be charged with a DUI if their blood alcohol content is higher than .04 percent. It is important to note that upon receiving their driver’s licenses, Arizona residents offer implied consent to submit to a blood alcohol test if they are suspected of operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Extreme DUI — An individual can be charged with an Extreme DUI in Arizona if their blood alcohol content is found to be .15 percent or higher. A person who is facing their first offense with this charge will be sentenced to a minimum of 30 days in jail and a minimum fine of $2,500. A second or subsequent offense can result in a minimum of 120 days in jail, a $3,250 fine and license suspension for at least 12 months.
- Aggravated DUI — There are several circumstances in which an individual can be charged with an Aggravated DUI. A person will face this charge if they are found operating a vehicle while under the influence while their license is suspended, or if they are found operating a vehicle while under the influence for the third time in less than 84 months. A person also will automatically be charged with an Aggravated DUI if there is a passenger in the vehicle who is 15 years old or younger. In addition, an individual can face an Aggravated DUI charge if they refuse to submit to a blood alcohol test while there is a certified ignition interlock device installed in the vehicle.
DUI Penalties Can Vary Based On The Degree And Frequency Of The Offense
Any person who is charged with any type of DUI in Chandler is going to face serious consequences, but the penalties for this criminal charge can vary significantly based on the type of DUI and the frequency of the offense. A first offense DUI is likely to result is less severe consequences, while repeat offenders will face higher fines and longer jail times.
What Should You Do If You Are Facing DUI Charges In Chandler, Arizona?
DUI charges in Chandler, Arizona can carry with them serious penalties. In order to minimize the impact of these charges on your personal and professional life, you need to contact a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. The right attorney will be able to advocate for you and help you navigate the legal system so that you get the results that you both need and deserve. Contact our law firm today to learn more about DUI charges in Chandler, Arizona.