If you are facing DUI charges in Gilbert, Arizona, you are likely concerned with what charges can be brought against you and what penalties you may face. DUI convictions can affect your daily life in ways you may not even imagine. Along with jail time, you could face a number of other consequences, such as severe fines and even suspension or revocation of your license. This makes understanding the possible charges and securing an experienced DUI attorney critical to provide you with a chance to get the best possible outcome for your case. Below are some of the most common DUI charges that you can face in Gilbert, Arizona.
First offense DUI charges
While this charge will typically carry the lightest sentence with conviction, the penalties can be severe as Arizona has begun to crack down on DUI crimes. This offense will fall under the classification of a Class 1 misdemeanor. This means you will not have a felony charge on your record, but you are still likely to serve a jail sentence. Convictions for a first time DUI in the state require at least a one-day jail sentence, though this is often counted as time served if you spent at least one night in jail before making bail. In addition to the one-day jail sentence, you will be assessed a minimum of $2,500 in fines and be put on probation for at least five years, which will come with its own costs and fees. You also will be subject to a 90-day license suspension.
Second offense DUI charges
Penalities get more severe as your number of DUI convictions goes up. If you are charged with a DUI within seven years of another DUI conviction, you will be charged with a second-offense DUI. This charge comes with a much stiffer minimum jail sentence of 30 days. The fines and probationary period will remain the same as with the first conviction, but the mandatory license suspension moves up to a year. At the end of the suspension, you will be required to reapply for your license and pay a reinstatement fee. In addition to this fee, you will be responsible for the $1,000 cost to install an ignition interlock device for the year following the reinstatement.
Extreme DUI charges
A more severe offense is being charged with an extreme DUI. This charge can be laid if you have a BAC of over 0.15 percent. If it is your first offense and counted as an extreme DUI, you will have to spend at least 10 days in jail but could be sentenced to six months. The fines, probation period, and license suspension will be the same as a regular first offense, but an ignition interlock device will be required when your license is reinstated. If it is your second conviction and classified as an extreme DUI, your sentence range will change from 60 days to six months, and the license suspension period moves to a year.
Aggravated DUI charges
A charge of aggravated DUI can be charged in a number of cases. These include:
- You do not have a valid license.
- You have had two previous convictions in five years.
- Your license is currently restricted.
- A child is in the car.
This charge can result in a Class 4 felony conviction and result in a mandatory three-year prison sentence and three-year license revocation.
DUI penalties in Gilbert, Arizona, are severe no matter the charges. So if you have been charged, don’t wait. Contact an experienced DUI attorney today to help you understand and fight the charges levied against you.