Living with the consequences can be rough if you are charged with a DUI. Convincing an Arizona judge to dismiss it is possible albeit extremely unlikely. Fighting the charge in court could be a better option.
Consequences of DUIs in Arizona
The Grand Canyon State does not mess around when it comes to drunk drivers. Courts sentence you as a first offender to a minimum of 10 days in jail. You also pay a fine of at least $1,250, undergo alcohol education and perform community service. Plus, the installation of an ignition interlock device in automobiles is mandatory.
Repeat offenders face even stricter punishments. You could get a sentence of at least three months behind bars on top of treatment and vehicle breath tests. Fines start at $3,000 and can go even higher.
Besides the immediate consequences, a DUI conviction will haunt you in the future. Getting jobs could become tougher, plus insurance rates may rise. Escaping legal condemnation remains a preferable alternative.
Countermeasures against DUIs in Arizona
Attorneys have a variety of arguments worthy of presentation before a judge. Your attorney may want to challenge the credibility of the arresting officer. Dash camera footage might show a lack of intoxication. Maybe you have a medical condition that causes you to seem intoxicated. These are but a few examples of savvy DUI defense strategies.
Sober individuals should not shoulder the burden society weighs on irresponsible drivers. If you are charged with a DUI, talking to a qualified attorney can help you strategize to what your best defense may be.