It is widely known that driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal and comes with severe penalties in all states in the United States. However, it is important to keep in mind that penalties may vary slightly depending on where a driver is and what level of intoxication they are in when receiving a DUI charge. Arizona, for example, has something known as a super extreme DUI for people who greatly violate their drinking and driving laws.
What a super extreme DUI entails
The legal limit in Arizona is 0.08 percent alcohol while operating a motor vehicle. However, Arizona has even stricter laws for people caught driving substantially over this amount. A super extreme DUI charge begins when law enforcement finds a person driving with over 0.20 percent alcohol in their blood. This level is enough to experience vomiting, blacking out and more.
This escalated DUI charge can carry extra penalties as well as potentially higher costs both financially and with potential jail or prison time in extreme cases.
Penalties for a super extreme DUI
For first-time offenders, this charge carries stiff fines of $3,200 or more and up to six months in jail. Like with most crimes, the penalties get harsher the more times the defendant receives a charge. Penalties of a driver’s license suspension, as well as a requirement to use an engine interlock device, come with both first-time and subsequent charges.
It is always wise to seek alternative forms of transportation when impaired. Knowing what constitutes a super extreme DUI enables motorists to avoid this very serious charge as well as avoid putting lives in danger. If you or a loved one has been charged with a super extreme DUI, it’s important to understand your legal options.